Home / National News / BBPA Announces 2016 Harry Jerome Award Recipients
BBPA Announces 2016 Harry Jerome Award Recipients

Mark Saunders, Chief of the Toronto Police Service (TPS), is the recipient of this year's BBPA Harry Jerome Award's Trailblazer award. Photo courtesy of the TPS.

BBPA Announces 2016 Harry Jerome Award Recipients

TORONTO, Ontario, March 29 — The Black Business and Professional Association (BBPA), the venerable organisation that, for the last 34 years, has organised the Annual Harry Jerome Awards (HJA), today, announced the 2016 recipients of its prestigious Award, at a press conference.

Presented and hosted by the BBPA and the Royal Bank of Canada — its lead sponsor — the HJA is recognized as one of the most prestigious national awards gala in the African-Canadian community — and a coveted symbol of achievement.

“The 34th Annual Harry Jerome Awards will take on a spectacular twist this year as we celebrate the greatness that lies across our nation,” said BBPA President, Pauline Christian.

“Our mantra ‘Generation of Greatness’ speaks volumes, as we reflect on the contributions and impact that our world-class honourees have made on the building of the Canadian Mosaic.”

This year’s recipients will receive awards in the following categories: Academics, Arts, Athletics, Business, Community Service, Diversity, Entertainment, Health Sciences, Leadership, Lifetime Achievement, Media, President’s, Professional Excellence, Trailblazer and Young Entrepreneur.

The 2016 HJA award winners are:

  • Happy Inibhunu – Academics;
  • Robert Small – Arts;
  • Jamal Murray – Athletics;
  • Nadine Spencer – Business;
  • Francis Atta – Community Service;
  • Wendy Cukier – Diversity;
  • David Woods – Entertainment;
  • Simone Atungo – Health Sciences;
  • Janelle Hinds – Leadership;
  • Judge Juanita Westmoreland-Traore – Lifetime Achievement Award;
  • Patricia Jaggernauth – Media;
  • David Bell – President’s Award;
  • Orin Isaacs – Professional Excellence;
  • Chief Mark Saunders – Trailblazer Award;
  • Samantha Clarke – Young Entrepreneur Award.
Juno Award Winner, vocalist, Simone Denny, is one of the featured performers at this year's HJA gala.

Juno Award Winner, vocalist, Simone Denny, is one of the featured performers at this year’s HJA gala.

Past recipients of the HJA have included: legendary musician, Oscar Peterson; Heavyweight Boxing Champion, Lennox Lewis; Olympic gold medalist, Donovan Bailey; Business magnate, Michael Lee-Chin; the late Rubin “Hurricane” Carter; Mayor John Tory; Toronto Raptors GM, Masai Ujiri; and CTV’s Marci Ien.

Founded in 1983, the BBPA is a charitable organization whose mission is to advance Canada’s Black community by facilitating the delivery of programs that support business and professional excellence, higher education and economic development.

In addition to the HJA, the BBPA also organises the BBPA National Scholarships and the National Black Business and Professional Convention (NBBPC).

Entertainment for this year’s HJA gala will include: Juno Award Winner, vocalist, Simone Denny; and Canada’s Queen of R&B and Soul, Jully Black.

The 34th Annual BBPA Harry Jerome Awards will be held on Saturday, April 23rd, at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre, South Building, 222 Bremner Blvd., in Toronto. Ticket prices for this prestigious, not-to-be-missed event are: Members $150.00; Early Bird $175; and Regular $200.00.

To reserve tickets, call 416-504-4097, order online at www.eventbrite.ca/e/the-34th-annual-harry-jerome-awards-tickets-22516722122?aff=es2 or visit the Centre of Excellence, located at 180 Elm Street, Toronto, between the hours of 10-4pm Monday to Friday.

For more information, visit the BBPA online at www.bbpa.org, call 416-504-4097 or email bbpa@bellnet.ca.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top