Home / Sports / Canadians Dominate Divisional Player Awards
Canadians Dominate Divisional Player Awards

Canadians Dominate Divisional Player Awards

CFL.ca Staff

TORONTO, Ontario – The Canadian Football League announced last week the 2013 Gibson’s Finest Most Outstanding Players for the East and West Divisions and they included a record number of Canadians. A total of seven Canadian players were honoured for eight most outstanding player awards, the most in league history.

Several of this year’s winners were also setting records on the field, combing to set six CFL single season records: most rushing yards by a Canadian (Jon Cornish), most yards from scrimmage by a Canadian (Jon Cornish), most consecutive field-goals made (Rene Paredes), highest field-goal percentage (Rene Paredes), highest pass completion percentage (Ricky Ray) and highest pass efficiency (Ricky Ray).

“Our players continue to play at an extremely high level, setting new records and providing our fans with exciting games and an exciting product,” said CFL Commissioner Mark Cohon. “On behalf of our entire league and our fans, congratulations to all of this year’s divisional winners — a very well deserved honour.”

This year’s winners are:


Most Outstanding Player:

Jon Cornish (CGY) | Ricky Ray (TOR)


Most Outstanding Defensive Player:

Charleston Hughes (CGY) | Chip Cox (MTL)


Most Outstanding Canadian:

Jon Cornish (CGY) | Henoc Muamba (WPG)


Most Outstanding Special Teams Player:

Rene Paredes (CGY) | Marc Beswick (HAM)


Most Outstanding Rookie:

Brett Jones (CGY) | CJ Gable (HAM)


Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman:

Brendon LaBatte (SSK) | Jeff Keeping (TOR)


Cornish could become the first Canadian player to be named CFL Most Outstanding Player since Tony Gabriel in 1978. Only two Canadian players have been named the CFL Most Outstanding Player – Gabriel (1978) and Russ Jackson (1969, 1966, 1963).

This marks the first time that both divisional winners for Most Outstanding Special Teams Players are Canadian since the award’s inaugural season in 1999.

The last Canadian player to be named the CFL Most Outstanding Rookie was Jason Clermont in 2002. Only four Canadian Players have been named the CFL Most Outstanding Rookie – Clermont (2002), Michael O’Shea (1993), Orville Lee (1988), and Joe Poplawski (1978).

The last time both East and West Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman were both Canadian was in 2008 when Scott Flory and Gene Makowsky were honoured.

The East and West Player Award winners were selected by 77 voters, including members of the Football Reporters of Canada (FRC) and CFL head coaches.

Voters were asked to select players from their local CFL division who, through on-field performance excellence, best represent the awards’ title – Most Outstanding Player, Most Outstanding Canadian Player, Most Outstanding Defensive Player, Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman, Most Outstanding Rookie and Most Outstanding Special Teams Player.

Photo courtesy of www.calgarysun.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top